Back to home page
Latest soccer news
Player profiles, statistics and information
The welsh international soccer squads
Useful links and site information
Interact with us in our fanzone feature
Voice your opinion in our poll
Sign our site guestbook
Have a bit of fun with our site quiz
Welcome to On-line Welsh Football. / Croeso i Pel-droed Cymru Ar-lein.

Germany v Wales - Under 21 - Friday 7th Oct 2005

Stadion an der Hamburger StraBe, Braunshweig
kick off 8.30pm (local). 7.30pm UK


UEFA U-21 Group 6 Table 




Germany (1) 4 Wales (0) 0
Rafael 3, 51
Fathi 54, Masmanidis 79 

Brian Flynnís side went down to a 4-0 defeat against a strong German Under 21 side this evening. Two goals from Nando Rafael early in both halves earned the Group 6 leaders all three points at the Stadion an der Hamburger StraBe, Braunshweig.

Wales picked-up no injuries or bookings ahead of their match with Azerbaijan at Newport Stadium on Tuesday.

Wales line-up:
Lee Worgan, Simon Spender, Lewin Nyatanga, Byron Anthony, Adam Davies, Peter Gilbert, Arron Davies, Mark Jones, Anthony Pulis, Joe Ledley, Ramon Calliste.
Subs: Chris Gunter, Rhoys Wiggins, Adam Birchall , Owain Tudur Jones, Curtis McDonald, Mark Pritchard, Kyle Letheren.

Germany line-up:
Adler, Hilbert, Fathi, Brzenska, Matip, Lehmann, Odonkor, Schulz, Rafael, Trochowski, Hunt.
Subs: Neuer, Baier, Gomez, Masmanidis, Polanski, Riether, Volz.

Called up into the Under 21 squad for the games against Germany and Azerbaijan are Chris Gunter (Cardiff City) and Rhoys Wiggins (Crystal Palace). Craig Davies is out of the squad for "personal reasons". Defender Dan Martin has decided to pulled out to push for a first-team place at his club Notts County.

Brian Flynn names squad for Germany match. Also selected are Craig Morgan (MK Dons) and Lee Beevers (Lincoln City), both are suspended for the Germany game. Wayne Hennessey (Wolves) has withdrawn from the squad through injury and is replaced by Kyle Letheren (Swansea City).

Squad Players update - Squad update: Northern Ireland and Azerbaijan.




Lee Worgan


Wayne Hennessey

 Wolverhampton Wanderers

Simon Spender               


Peter Gilbert                   

 Leicester City

Byron Anthony               

 Cardiff City

Adam Davies                  

 Cambridge United

Lewin Nyatanga              

 Derby County

Dan Martin                     

 Notts County

Andrew Crofts                


Joseph Ledley                 

 Cardiff City

Arron Davies                  

 Yeovil Town

Owain Tudur Jones

 Swansea City

Mark Jones                    


Curtis Mcdonald              

 Cardiff City

Anthony Pulis                  

 Stoke City

Adam Birchall                  

 Mansfield Town

David Cotterill                 

 Bristol City

Craig Davies         

 Oxford United

Mark Pritchard                

 Swansea City

Ramon Calliste               


Stand by players


Owain Fon Williams

Crewe Alexandra

Levi Mackin


Stuart Fleetwood

Cardiff City

Gareth Bale


Matthew Collins


Chris Flynn

Crewe Alexandra



Back to top